Pye, Mostert earn Clipsal V8 poles

Ford have claimed an opening day delight at the Clipsal 500, with Scott Pye stunning the V8 Supercars field to take a career-first pole and comeback kid Chaz Mostert claiming rights for race two.


The Adelaide street circuit produced a pair of crowd-pleasing pole-sitters, with home-town boy Pye roaring home and Mostert returning to the front row on his first race day since a major accident at last year’s Bathurst 1000.

In qualifying for the first race, Pye’s No.17 Falcon edged out Jamie Whincup by less than a tenth of a second.

The pole is Pye’s first in 106 races in the category, and gives a first pole to DJR Team Penske after joining the series at last year’s Clipsal 500.

This time 12 months ago, DJR Team Penske debuted returning champion Marcos Ambrose in the No.17 Falcon, leaving Pye without a drive.

Ambrose’s desertion after last year’s visit to Adelaide elevated Pye but it’s only now that he’s seeing the fruits of his labour.

With new teammate Fabian Coulthard, Pye had endured an off-season in transition as his team expanded to field two cars this year.

Pye’s garage were euphoric at the result and the 26-year-old pumped his fists to the Adelaide crowd on Friday after climbing from his Falcon.

“I came to this race as a kid so to line up on the front row tomorrow is going to be a special feeling,” he said.

“It’s a massive privilege to be here with 17 on the side.

“Even going into this weekend, we figured it might be a weak track for us. So it’s promising.”

Mostert, 23, also received a warm reception from the South Australian crowd when he topped the time charts in qualifying for race two.

The Prodrive Racing man broke his leg and wrist while qualifying for the 2015 Bathurst 1000, returning to the field this weekend.

Last year’s leading pole-winner, who claimed his front-row start in the hard-tyre session, said: “I was pretty emotional out there, actually. I’d put that pole position just under (winning the 2014) Bathurst,” he said.

“I didn’t know how I was going to roll out.

“It’s unbelievable. I didn’t expect until at least mid-season so it’s great to get one.”

In both races, Jamie Whincup took second and Scott McLaughlin placed third.


1. Scott Pye (Ford)

2. Jamie Whincup (Holden)

3. Scott McLaughlin (Volvo)

4. Mark Winterbottom (Ford)

5. James Courtney (Holden)

6. Shane Van Gisbergen (Holden)


1. Chaz Mostert (Ford)

2. Jamie Whincup (Holden)

3. Scott McLaughlin (Volvo)

4. James Courtney (Holden)

5. Shane Van Gisbergen (Holden)

6. Michael Caruso (Nissan)